Smart Investor Malaysia

Abdul Wahid Omar named as new Bursa Malaysia chairman


Abdul Wahid replaces Datuk Shireen Ann Zaharah Muhiudeen who will be retiring on 30 April 2020  

By Lee Min Keong

Bursa Malaysia Bhd announced the retirement of its non-executive chairman Datuk Shireen Ann Zaharah Muhiudeen effective 30 April 2020. She will be succeeded by Tan Sri Abdul Wahid Omar effective 1 May 2020, confirmed Bursa Malaysia in a statement today.

It said this appointment was made by Minister of Finance Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Abdul Aziz under Section 10(1)(a) of the Capital Markets and Services Act 2007.

Abdul Wahid said: “I am truly honoured to be appointed as the chairman of Bursa Malaysia Bhd. Having had the privilege of serving as its independent director for seven years (2004-2011) including during its IPO in 2005, Bursa Malaysia is indeed very close to my heart.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Minister of Finance and Prime Minister for their trust and confidence in me. Thank you too to my predecessor, Datuk Shireen, for her leadership of the board since March 2019.

“I look forward to working closely with fellow board members, the management team and other stakeholders in guiding Bursa Malaysia as a diverse, innovative and sustainable exchange holding company towards realising its vision to be Asean’s leading, responsible and globally-connected marketplace,” said Abdul Wahid.

        Tan Sri Abdul Wahid Omar

Shireen, meanwhile, welcomed Abdul Wahid to the board of the exchange. “I am confident that under his leadership, Bursa Malaysia will continue to flourish as a dynamic and competitive exchange in the global marketplace.

“During my time here, I have had the privilege to work with a great team. I would also like to thank all Warga Bursa, our partners and investors for their trust and support. I wish Bursa Malaysia all the very best for the future,” she added.

Shireen was appointed to her current post on 1 March 2019, replacing Tan Sri Amirsham A Aziz, who held the position since 2015. She is also the founder of Corston-Smith Asset Management Sdn Bhd and also served as the chief executive officer of AIG Investment Corporation (Asia) Ltd from 1992 to 2004.

       Datuk Shireen Ann Zaharah Muhiudeen

Abdul Wahid is currently the chairman of Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, since November 2018. He has extensive corporate experience leading major organisations in infrastructure development, telecommunications, financial services and investment management.

He served as group chairman of Permodalan Nasional Bhd (PNB), Malaysia’s largest fund management company, from August 2016 to June 2018 following completion of his term as a senator and Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department in charge of Economic Planning from June 2013 to June 2016.

Prior to his cabinet appointment, Abdul Wahid was the president and CEO of Maybank from May 2008. Prior to joining Maybank, he was the group CEO of Telekom Malaysia Bhd from July 2004 until its demerger with Axiata Group Bhd in April 2008. He was also formerly the MD and CEO of UEM Group Bhd from October 2001 to June 2004.

Tan Sri Abdul Wahid is a member of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA), the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England & Wales (ICAEW) and the Malaysian Institute of Accountants (MIA).

Also retiring along with Datuk Shireen is public interest director and independent non-executive director Datin Mariam Prudence Yusof, effective 30 April 2020.

Bursa Malaysia also confirmed the appointment of Datuk Anad Krishnan as public interest director and independent non-executive director effective 23 April 2020. He is currently the managing partner of Anad & Noraini. He has extensive experience in corporate conveyancing, corporate banking laws as well as corporate litigation.

Join our Telegram to get the latest from Smart Investor

Recent Posts

Related Posts

Smart Investor Newsletter

Get Our Latest Articles And More Delivered To Your Inbox!