MFPYA 2017 Winners Honoured


In recognition of the winners of the inaugural Malaysian Financial Planner of the Year Award (MFPYA) 2017, the Financial Planning Association of Malaysia (FPAM) held a recognition ceremony to acknowledge their achievements recently at the Bukit Kiara Equestrian & Country Resort on 18 July 2017.

Organised by PlanPlus Global Financial Planning Awards, the MFPYA was held in collaboration with the Association of Financial Advisers (AFA), the Malaysian Financial Planners and Advisers Association (MFPAA), and the Malaysian Financial Planning Council (MFPC).

Kevin Neoh Kean Ming was announced as the Winner of MFPYA 2017. Jennifer Chua Nei Nei was announced as the first runner-up, while Kelly Wong and V Thanga Velu were announced second runners-up.

  Kevin Neoh, Licensed Financial Planner, VKA Wealth Planners

The MFPYA is mooted to recognise the excellence in financial planning in Malaysia based on global adjudication standards, and to raise the profile of financial planning by giving the public a better appreciation of the role played by licensed financial planners in helping their clients solve complex financial challenges.

“We believe that Malaysia has many potential world-class Licensed Financial Planners who may need guidance, encouragement, feedback and a platform to hone their skills,” said FPAM President Ismitz Matthew De Alwis, CFP, in his speech during the awards ceremony.

The awards, he continued, is therefore important to enable and motivate the country’s Licensed Financial Planners to develop and re-engineer themselves to meet the challenges that are evolving around them.

To participate, planners must hold current financial planning credentials from regulator-recognised bodies. After securing their permission, planners submit plans they have actually delivered to real clients. Adjudication is done by a panel of five expert judges based on the quality and breadth of the recommendations that are contained in the plans and how well they address the clients’ problems.

Winner Neoh and first runner-up Chua were the recipients of cash prizes of RM3,000 and RM2,000 respectively, courtesy of platinum sponsor Kenanga Investors Bhd.

Second runners-up Wong and Velu, meanwhile, each received RM1,000 in prize money from event sponsors Pacific Trustees Berhad and the Islamic Banking and Finance Institute Malaysia (IBFIM).


About Author

Comments are closed.